Australia Reads Special Editions

Young readers are going to absolutely adore our four Australia Reads Special Editions! Written as part of Australia Reads to celebrate the wonder and magic of reading, they cover everything from laugh-out-loud funny to the wistfulness of love lost and found. You know they’re going to be popular when they’ve been written and illustrated by some of Australia’s most admired (and generous) authors: the award-winning team of Ursula Dubosarsky and Andrew Joyner, acclaimed YA rom-com writer Jenna Guillaume, the dynamic duo of Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith and First Dog on the Moon, and hilarious AFL kids series writers Nicole Hayes and Adrian Beck. There’s something for every kid who loves reading, and for every kid who doesn’t…yet!

All of these wonderful books are available from your favourite bookseller, in-store or online.

Download activities and Teacher’s Notes from our resources page.

About our books for kids

AFL LITTLE LEGENDS: THE MISSING CUP

Nicole Hayes & Adrian Beck

Perfect for fans of Tiny Timmy, Real Pigeons and Weirdo, Little Legends is the only official AFL junior fiction series. Little Legends follows Oz, Ellie and Sanjay Little, star players for the Fresca Bay Falcons, on a series of hilarious and action-packed adventures that celebrate the great game of Australian Rules. It’s packed with fun and will entertain footy-mad kids for hours.

LITTLE BOOK BIG UNIVERSE, A GUIDE TO EXPLORING AUSTRALIA’S NIGHT SKIES

Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith with illustrations by First Dog on the Moon

The perfect book for aspiring amateur astronomers and anyone just fascinated by our wonderful night sky. This brilliant step-by-step fun guide to exploring Australia’s night skies is full of mind-blowing facts about our cosmos designed for curious minds. Sprinkled throughout with First Dog on the Moon’s awesome drawings showing the best entertainment in town is found by looking up.

THE MAGNIFICENT HERCULES QUICK

Ursula Dubosarsky with illustrations by Andrew Joyner

From the current Australian Children’s Laureate and the bestselling creators of The Terrible Plop.
Hercules Quick dreams of being a magnificent magician. He is saving up to buy a box of magic tricks. Luckily, he has plenty of neighbours who need his help. Whether it’s lending a hand to Professor Calamari or doing an out of season spring-clean for Queen Claude, no job is too odd for Hercules.

About our YA book

THE DEEP END

Jenna Guillaume

A new novella by acclaimed YA author of What I Like About Me and You Were Made For Me. When Rosie embarrasses herself at the school swimming carnival, she vows to never step in the pool again. Then Jake Owen, the best swimmer (and hottest boy) in her year says he’ll give her lessons. As they bond over failed freestyles and parental pressures, they discover more than either of them anticipated.

About our book ambassadors

Adrian Beck is a part-time TV producer, part-time writer and full-time AFL fan. He writes funny, action-packed adventure stories that are fun to read – even for kids who struggle to get interested in books.

Ursula Dubosarsky is the current Australian Children’s Laureate. She is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than 60 books and has been nominated for both the Hans Christian Andersen Award and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Prize.

First Dog on the Moon is an award-winning political cartoonist who has written and illustrated various books and performed live onstage in a number of shows.

Jenna Guillaume is an entertainment and lifestyle journalist (SMH, Junkee, BuzzFeed, Flicks, MTV, The Guardian, Girlfriend) and the author of Young Adult rom-coms What I Like About Me and You Were Made For Me. She has a passion for pop culture, body positivity, social media, and kissing books.

Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith is an award-winning astrophysicist, author, and the Australian Government Women in STEM Ambassador. She has a talent for making the secrets of the universe accessible to all and has appeared on ABC TV’s Stargazing Live and in her own stage show, When Galaxies Collide.

Nicole Hayes is an award-winning author, podcaster and footy fanatic. She is one-sixth of the award- winning all-female Australian football podcast and radio show, The Outer Sanctum (on the ABC).

Andrew Joyner is a highly acclaimed picture book creator. His books have been published in more than twenty-five countries.

Where to buy?

We love our local, independent bookstores – and many are offering free and speedy delivery!

Find your local bookstore at loveyourbookshop.com.au

The books are also available at:

Days
Hours
Minutes

© 2021 Australia Reads
Privacy Policy  |  Contact

Want to know more?

Are you ready for Australian Reading Hour 2021?
Ok, take a deep breath, and repeat after us.

“I will read or listen to an Australian book, whether written or drawn or illustrated or spoken aloud, wherever I may be, in city or bush, in the bath, in bed or up a tree, for one hour on Tuesday 14 September 2021. I will read silently or aloud, I will read by myself or in a crowd. I will read a story that matters to me.”

Great! We’d love to keep you up to date with the latest news and events.

Sign up by clicking here.